My role model (Help on equipment)

Sirene

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
My role model in photography is Somaya Reece (She's a professional self taught photographer)

This is what she said she uses:

I shoot with a Canon Mark II and the Nikon d70. I also use a RING FLASH this gives you a nice look, very sleek and well lit.

You can see her work here
(I'm not into taking glamour pics but I love the other ones.. the rappers and the old lady shot)

http://www.myspace.com/photographybysomaya

I'm new to photography and already made a thread about which camera I should buy, but now I would like to know :

1- What do you guys think about what she uses ( Is this stuff as great for shooting people as for nature or places? )

2- If I'm a real beginner but hoping one day to shoot profesionnally just like my role model, which camera should I buy now, not having a 1500$ and up budget

Thanks so much for your help guys, I really appreciate it

A camera is just a tool. It's skill, talent and knowledge that makes a good photographer.

Buying the same camera as your role model won't mean that you can take the same quality of photos.

I suggest you get what you can afford and start learning. Read some books, take some classes. That will be money well spent.
Maybe try to find someone to learn from. Become an assistant for a professional, that is one of the best ways to learn.

A camera is just a tool. It's skill, talent and knowledge that makes a good photographer.

Buying the same camera as your role model won't mean that you can take the same quality of photos.

I suggest you get what you can afford and start learning. Read some books, take some classes. That will be money well spent.
Maybe try to find someone to learn from. Become an assistant for a professional, that is one of the best ways to learn.

Thanks,

Like I said I don't want to buy the same camera as her, I want one day though, I wanted to know which should I buy now.