My tripod is a Segway...

JimMcClain

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Website
1footinthegrave.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Well okay, not really. I do have a real tripod and I have been known to shoot a picture or 3 from my Segway, but generally, I let the Seg glide me to a location, then I get off to shoot.

I've spent a good portion of the last day looking for a forum to discuss photography on, share some of my pictures and learn from others how to improve my work. Off and on throughout my life I have had periods of great interest in photography. I even took a class at a community college (San Mateo, CA) in the early 80s. But for some reason, I just never found the time to devote to it that it needed. Work, relationships and other interests kept me from getting serious about it - although I seem to have made it a background player in all those things.

Last week I ordered a Lumix FZ200. While waiting for it to arrive, I studied articles, videos and read discussions on a lot of forums. I was particularly appreciative of a series of videos by Graham Houghton on the FZ200. So, I'm excited about taking the camera for a glide to see what we can see.

The main reason for the Segway is my lungs. They're shot. The only good thing about them is now I don't have a job (well, that also the bad thing) and think I can devote time to developing some latent artistic talent. I'm somewhat limited in physical exertion, but I have amazed myself even during these last 4 years past my so-called expiration date (damn doctors don't know sh**).

Let me finish with a shot I took a few years ago - before I knew about "selfies." People are always commenting about how the Seg makes me look so tall. I decided to accentuate it by setting my Olympus C-8080 on a mini-tripod. I kinda like the shot.

avon-viper-stryke-tires07.jpg