ND filter for 100 ISO slide film?

Irminsul

'The Column of Heaven'
Reaction score
Website
www.flickr.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
An upcoming project by my local camera club (actually a bunch of friends who are film enthusiasts) will require shooting our "assignments" in slide film. I've got some Fuji Velvia 100 ISO. I've always shot print film before and I've been told that to get acceptable shots with slide film I will need a neutral density filter, or perhaps several. The assignment is a field trip to a South Florida beach area. To those here who are knowledgeable on the subject my question is: should I get ND filter(s) for my EOS Elan 7n camera, and if so, what type and brand would you recommend? Being an absolute newbie when it comes to slide shots, I would appreciate any helpful advice from the experts. :hail:

The ND (Neutral Density) filters are just light intensity filters. Typically, you could just use a higher f-stop or shutter speed to do the same.

Obviously these filters exist for a reason and the above measures are not always the best option.

Here are some reasons to use an ND (NDx2 or NDx4 or NDx whatever) filter - or more. And some reasons why not to use them.

I would avoid using an ND filter - or any filter - simply because it gets between the subject and the lens, hence lowering the image quality even if by a whisker.

I would consider the ND filter(s) in the following cases:

Fast film (e.g. 400 or 1000) and sunny whether. You might want the fast film if you want to use the grain effect for whatever reason.

Most lenses perform at their best when the apperture setting is below 13 and at least 1 or 2 stops above their minimum. At wide open many lenses suffer from increased vigneting and Chromatic Aberration while at closed apperture settings difraction softens the picture. So this practically gives you a much narrower selection of f-Stops to chose than the ones on your lens dial - for best results.