ND Filter options

mkoop

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello,

I have run into some situations where I wanted to use longer exposures during the day which would call for me to use a ND filter. I was hoping to get some additional opinions...

Price is not really an issue, I really like the LEE filter system and this would be my ideal setup. Has anyone used the variable ND filters (I know Ive seen one by Hoya at least, not sure what brands I should also compare / consider). I am just very skeptical about variable ND and think I would prefer to use a layering method similar to the LEE system.

The problem is the majority of my time is spent on landscapes while on multiple day backpacking trips. Which really makes the LEE system far less ideal to me.

Does anyone have experience they could share in regards to the VND? I have no experience so my skepticism is unfounded, just based on some old reviews I came across while researching.

Last edited:
I wouldn't trade my Singh-Ray VND for all the tea in China.

Thanks, am looking into one of these now. I see the normal size and the thin model, does anyone know if both function at the same level or is there a trade off for the thinner model?

See if you can contact @D-B-J ... He has the Lee system and takes some gorgeous shots, including lots of landscape. From what I've read on the system, it's fairly compact. Not sure why you wouldn't be able to throw it in a small bag that you'd probably already have with you while hiking.

Thanks, am looking into one of these now. I see the normal size and the thin model, does anyone know if both function at the same level or is there a trade off for the thinner model?

They function the same. The thin version has no front threads so a lens cap won't have anything to grab on to.