Need a simple shot, best advice for newbie?

mikec

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi, this is my first post on this forum. I'm trying to help get a friend's business started and while I have some experience with videography, I have none with photography. What I need to do is take a picture of this person for use on book covers, brochures and ads.

The camera I have to work with is a Canon Powershot A520 (http://www.dpreview.com/reviews/canona520/ for specifications)

For lighting, when I shoot video, we're in a small room and I get away with two halogen shop lights from home depot pointed directly at the ceiling to reflect light down on the subject. And I also have a blue screen to put behind the subject for the photo.

I know photography is a complex art that takes years to master but we're on a tight (no) budget and just need to do the best we can with what we have. I know my camera has a million different manual settings and modes, none of which I know how to operate.

Would anyone here be so kind to tell me what I can do in order to get the best results with what I have? Whether it be certain settings on the camera, position of these lights, etc?

Anything you tell me is much appreciated because it's far more than I already know :D

Welcome to the forum.

You will probably be OK with the camera in auto mode...or maybe Av and set the largest aperture (smallest F number). Personally, I'd suggest trying to use window light for a portrait. Get your subject close to a window and use that for light. It might help to have something reflective/white on the other side of them, just to fill in the shadows.

If you just want an evenly lit portrait, you could use the same lights & method that you mentioned above. Just make sure to set the proper white balance or else use the custom WB function.