Need a wide-angle lens for my Nikon D40X

shivaswrath

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hey guys,
After being on here a couple of months and doing research, I decided on a D40x (and ended up getting surprised with it as my engagement present from my fiancee!)

I ended up going kitlensless since I knew I was going to upgrade to a fancy AF-S lens of some sort, but am sort of kicking myself in the ass now (well she actually decided to go without the kit lens since the body was only $580 shipped, woah prices have dropped!)

I got a Nikon 55-200mm AF-S VR lens which has treated me well so far, but after a recent trip to upper Mass for a retreat with LOTS of landscape photos, I'm feeling the itch for a wide angle.

And this is where, as a newbie, I feel restricted by budget since I can "only" get an AF-S lens compatible with the D40x I own - and don't even suggest manual, I'm having a difficult enough time getting my AF-S images focused right now!

The options I seems to have are drop $900 for a Nikkor 12-24mm with AF-S

OR

try the Sigma 10-20mm lens with HSM.

They say the sigma has "color fall off", what in god's name is that? I recognize that if I don't know what it is, I probably shouldn't worry since I"m a noob, BUT my learning curve was drastic this weekend and I figure in a couple's year time, I'll get peeved about draw backs since I'm already annoyed with some of the choices I have made. . .

I love my Sigma 10-20...

934142721_bfff63b46b.jpg

1107905361_4a2b959ce8.jpg

934992012_20aea347b8.jpg

I've not seen any colour fall off... thats when the colour fades lightly from the edges.

But, let me try to save you a little money. Place the camera in manual, set it on one focal point, ISO, aperture. Place it on a tripod, and take several pictures from right to left or left to right overlapping a little on each pic... then try out this free little beauty of a small and super easy program:

http://autostitch.en.softonic.com/