Need adice. I'm a family photographer. Getting fashion shoot inquiries..

RowmyF

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hello there..

So I'm a family & children's photographer and have my pricing geared towards that. There is a session fee and then prices per prints al carte, photo albums, gallery mounts, etc.

I do not offer full res digital files to clients.

I've been recently getting calls to do "small" fashion shoots. I.E. A new designer creating headbands. A new designer starting a bikini line and also a couple of DJ's who need pictures for their CD cover.

I am comfortable charging my standard session fee for the shoot but don't know how to handle the digital files.

Any input on how a standard fashion photographer would charge or how it all works would be awesome.

Hey man,

First off, take what I say with a load of salt, 'cause I really don't know much about photography businesses, specifically speaking.:neutral:

Anyway..

IMO, wouldn't it look kinda bad to shoot bikini models if your a FAMILY and CHILDREN'S photographer?:shock:

Take everything you can get, as above per pricing or find out what others in the area charge and have similar pricing. H

Hey man,

First off, take what I say with a load of salt, 'cause I really don't know much about photography businesses, specifically speaking.:neutral:

Anyway..

IMO, wouldn't it look kinda bad to shoot bikini models if your a FAMILY and CHILDREN'S photographer?:shock:

I kinda agree with that in the sense of the two combined, but if you keep it seperate in some way or just do bikini on one day and family on others, then you should be fine.....

LOL, or combine it and shoot families wearing their bikinis?

I don't think it is that big deal to have more than one avenue. I think it is good to continue learning all types of photography. You could maybe have different subdomains or something.