Need ADVICE for CATALOG photography

obscura333

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hello All, this is my first post. :)

I recently was hired at a local market and I've been asked to research equipment for a small photography studio, so we can update our food catalog.

I have seven years experience as a photojournalist and have a hobby in family portraiture and food photography. But I know very little about lighting equipment when it comes to product and professional food photography.

We will be shooting various products as well as fresh cooked foods. I really love the lighting and photography on this link: Good Taste - A celebration of food from Lunds and Byerly's

My budget is $1,000 for lighting and props. Any advice on equipment would be amazing!

I currently shoot with a Canon 5d Mark III.

Thanks so much!

Here is your shopping list:

• 4 stands (2 for the strobes, 2 to hold the crossbar)
  • 1 crossbar $60
  • A not dangerous strobe boom stand that won’t fall over or snap $300
  • Boom arm $300
  • 3 umbrella diffusers $120
  • Sand bags x3 $30
  • Light meter $300
  • White paper rolls $80
  • Acrylic Risers $30
  • 3 strobes 600w $800
  • Tether your camera (use light room + your laptop)
  • Tether cable $30
  • Table

$On-Site Service.jpg
Now you have to learn how to use this crap... A !k budget wont cut it

Some of the images in your Good Taste reference link were shot in natural day light I think, but you can actually see some of their equipment on the reflective products like this one. As far I can tell there were just three continuous softboxes used in that shot. You can get a similar setup for cheap like this one and it will work fine (though it may not last long :)) for similar shots if you stick to small items and will not be shooting water drops, splashes and staff.

Last edited:
Hello All, this is my first post. :)