Need advice for purchasing my first dslr

Meyeracing

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hi everyone I am new to the site, and I have been reviewing dslrs for a little while. Looking for one that I can take pictures of my race car, take with me on vacation, and whatever and wherever else I bring it. I am no pro I'm a beginner so I want something easier to use that has a faster shutter speed for the car and fast picture taking. There are many brands out there but I mainly am looking into canon and nikon. Right now I'm leaning towards a t3i any info or advice on another camera would be great. More or less I'm looking for high quality pictures wherever there being taken but I don't want to break the bank on a $2000 camera. Thank you everyone and have a good day

Welcome to the forum!

Here is an article I was jut point towards. It helped!

Mac

Welcome. I'm also a beginner at photography.

Personally my first DSLR is the Nikon D3100 because of the Guide Mode which when you select what kind of photo you want to take will set the camera up to take the best picture accordingly. When you choose an Advanced shot it will also explain what settings to change and what it does so it "guides" you over time on how to tweak the settings for yourself to get the best shot. Excellent camera for a beginner.

As for cost my kit was under $600 bucks which came with the body and a basic lens. For about 200 bucks more you can get the better D3200 which also has the same Guide Mode function I believe. Just my 2 cents.

By the way...what is your budget as that will really help us help you.

Around $700 I would never sacrifice money for quality if I see something is better and cost a $100 more I would do it

this is one very good combo option for 700$, it really gives you a lot of options :
Amazon.com: Nikon D3100 Digital SLR Camera & 18-55mm VR + 55-200mm VR Lens with 16GB Card + Filters + Case + Accessory Kit: Camera & Photo