Need advice on camera purchase

n00bsauce

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Please keep in mind that I am a total noob while considering flaming me.

Im looking to pick up photography as a hobby. I have always enjoyed taking photos with my ****ty camera and would like to go a step further. I was told that I should not waste my time with a film camera because digital cameras are just as good and much more efficient and easy to use. I like the sound of this, but dont know if its true. Anyway, I would really appreciate any advice on what type of camera to purchase. I mainly want to take landscape and if possible, stellar photos. Price isn't that big of a deal, but I would like to keep in under 2K. Please make some recommendations, film or digital. Thanks!

Welcome to the forum.

This question (or some variation of it) gets asked several times a day. Try reading through THIS SECTION of the site and you will find plenty of good info.

I started out with a Nikon d3000 and am now looking to upgrade to a Canon T2i, Nikon was a very good starting camera, i would tell you you should watch some reviews of different cameras on youtube and see witch ones have features you need. works for me all the time. if money is no issue i would start with a higher end starter DSLR so that you dont have to upgrade until something much better comes.