Need advice on editing software..

StarryEyedGirl

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello all :)

I am looking for advice on what editing software is best, at the lowest price ;) Of course I would love photoshop, but I'm poor, lol. I am thinking lightroom 4 possibly, but I know there are more out there, so I am looking for opinions and advice. I would love the ability to remove objects, and add backgrounds, increase color saturation, etc.. Yes, I am a beginner, and not very knowledgeable on such programs, but I am a fast learner. I have no real way of editing my photographs, nothing professional anyway. Thank you for your help in advance!

Kim..

My favorite software (when it comes to photography) is Adobe Lightroom. It's what I call a 'workflow' software. It does 95% of what I need to do 95% of the time. It's great at organizing and archiving all my photos, and very good 'global' edits (color, tone, brightness etc). It's even pretty good at some selective editing. But that it lacks, is the ability to layer images...so it's not something that you would use to change a background, or swap heads etc.
For something like that, you'll want an actual image editing software...Photoshop CS being 'the best' but also very expensive. Have a look at Photoshop Elements. It's a 'lite' version of CS, but it's much less expensive. You might even check out 'GIMP', which is a free image editing software.

Also, keep in mind that Adobe is switching to a 'creative cloud' system, where you don't buy the software, but pay a monthly fee for the license to use it. I think their price for Photoshop CS is something like $20/month.