Need advice on macro lens

ifoundnemo

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hello everyone! I am new to this forum. I very recently got my first real camera- a Canon Rebel T3i. I am looking to buy a macro lens, but I really have no idea where to begin. I like to photograph very small things, such as insects and frogs. What would be a good lens to purchase? I am a beginner, so I'm not looking to spend too, too much just yet. Thank you!

Pick a longer focal length. Shorter ones may get you the magnification you want, but you'll be so close to the critters you may scare 'em away.

I picked up a Canon 100mm macro lens last fall (refurbished from Canon). Very nice lens, though I think something like a 180mm macro might be even better for "skittish" subjects. Bonus: it's not a half-bad portrait lens - it doesn't have the creamy bokeh of some of the "L"'s, but it's a really nice double-duty lens.

Here are some of the first shots I took with the lens last fall (a couple are more recent):

https://www.flickr.com/photos/dglambert/sets/72157636818895173/

Okay great thanks for your help. I looked at the 100mm Canon lens and I think I will get a refurbished one when they're back in stock on the Canon website. As for the focal length, do you think I would be able to get the 100mm lens and some extension tubes t get similar results? The lenses with longer focal lengths are a little out of my price range at the moment.

Okay great thanks for your help. I looked at the 100mm Canon lens and I think I will get a refurbished one when they're back in stock on the Canon website. As for the focal length, do you think I would be able to get the 100mm lens and some extension tubes t get similar results? The lenses with longer focal lengths are a little out of my price range at the moment.