Need advice on shooting interiors (arch work)

dpolston

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I have been asked by an interior decorator and a high end cabinet builder (two totally different contacts - just a weird coincidence) and they each want before, during and after shots of their work. I have little experience in this specific style of shots but I have taken interiors before, just not the magazine quality they're looking for.

I think I have a problem off the bat because the largest app lens I have is an 18mm. I have a Sigma 24-70 2.8 being shipped out this week (bought it last night) and I do have a 3 strobe kit and reflectors I use all the time for portraits. I know that lighting is the key but what are the little nuances that I'm not thinking about?

I have a 10-20mm lens on a wish list and hadn't planned to order it yet but if I need it I will get it.

Please give me some advice on this and I don't mean any disrespect at all but I am looking for people that have shot this on a professional level more or less. Where are the pro's that can help me? I know you're out there.

Thanks!

David

I thought I'd add... If there are video tutorials out there, link me! I went to a bookstore today looking but I only found one book on interiors and it wasn't all that good. It talked more on natural light, finding the right location and decorating than it did on practical light setups.

Is the 18mm a Nikkor? I can't imagine anything wider than that would be necessary, or useful for that matter.

I think lighting is key. As a portrait photographer, you know there's more to lighting than merely getting proper exposure.

How I proceed would depend on the size of the rooms to be photographed. If you're talking residential, I think I'd try to create my own lighting. If I'm shooting large, commercial buildings, it's gonna be much harder to create light, especially with strobes. I would shoot at the smallest aperture possible... f22 usually.