Need advice on this umbrella kit

kami

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I'm basically a beginner with off camera lighting and would like to expand my learning. I basically have been using bounce flash (SB-600) and a Gary Fong diffuser for the past 8 months since I started getting an interest in photography.

For now, I'm only doing home portraits of my family, friends, and some occasional outdoor shots as well. But I'd like to focus more on improving my portrait shots.

I am already satisfied with my pictures thus far but I'd like to learn more. I was looking at this kit below:

Impact | Digital Flash Umbrella Mount Kit | DFUMK | B&H Photo

After reading all the 88 reviews it seems like a pretty good one. The only draw backs I've read was that:

1. You cannot adjust the angle of the umbrella, only the flash
2. you can't always get your strobe flash to hit dead center of the umbrella.
3. Something wrong with the way mounting shoe fits.

Other than that, it seems like a decent, cost worthy purchase.

Any thoughts?

Thanks in advance!

I'm sure that kit is fine.

Just to confirm, are you planning to get anther flash unit as well? That kit is only the stands, brackets and umbrellas...no lights.

I'm sure that kit is fine.

Just to confirm, are you planning to get anther flash unit as well? That kit is only the stands, brackets and umbrellas...no lights.

Yes, I'm ordering another SB600 with whatever I decide to purchase.

I'm basically a beginner with off camera lighting and would like to expand my learning. I basically have been using bounce flash (SB-600) and a Gary Fong diffuser for the past 8 months since I started getting an interest in photography.

For now, I'm only doing home portraits of my family, friends, and some occasional outdoor shots as well. But I'd like to focus more on improving my portrait shots.

I am already satisfied with my pictures thus far but I'd like to learn more. I was looking at this kit below: