Need Advice regarding which MILC to choose

Discussion in 'Mirrorless Cameras' started by Noor_ar, Dec 29, 2014.

1. Noor_ar

Noor_ar TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    Hello all !

I'm a beginner and new to this forum , and I've deiced to buy a MLIC as my first serious camera as they offer a good compromise between portability and quality IMO .. I am considering these 3 options :

1-Fujifilm X-M1 as it is selling for 550 USD here in Dubai with the Standard Kit lens + 50-230 telephoto lens
    2-Sony a6000 746 USD + for kit lens + 55-210 telephoto from B&H
    3-Sonly A5100 656 USD for kit lens + 55-210 telephoto from B&H

As a beginner would the a5100 suffice or I'm better off shelling out the extra 100 USD for the EVF and hot shoe ?

The Fuji-film looks like a great deal, but I do care about auto-focus and low light performance , how does it compare to Sonys in that aspect ?

I am also open to other suggestions for an approx 600 USD budget MILC :)

Thanks !
    Noor

Last edited: Dec 29, 2014
  2. Gary A.

Gary A. Been spending a lot of time on here!

I've used/owned a number of mirrorless but not a Sony. I've used Panasonics, Olympus and Fujis. My Fuji's are, without question, my most used cameras. I much prefer the Fuji X-Trans sensor over the sensor in my Oly EM1. I haven't used a X-M1, but it uses the same sensor as in my XP1, XE2, X100S and XT1. My Fuji's deliver exceptional low light performance. I don't know about the autofocus of the Sony(s) but the second generation Fuji's focuses lightning fast (XE2/XT1), similar to the Oly EM-1. Shooting action with the Fuji's is still a bit problematic as the AF has a problem tracking, but it will maintain focus if you keep the moving subject in the focus reticle. (Again, this has been my experience with the XT1.) Fuji FX lenses are exceptional, equal to or better than my 'L' lenses that I use for my FF cameras.

Gary

Examples of low light performance:

XT1 w/ 55-200 @ 200mm, ISO 3200