Need Advice

clarie

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I got these Lens and the sunpak flash at a really cheap price, but they are older models, all manual I think!...but they work on my Nikon d3100. I'm new to all this DSLR stuff so I tried them out and I know I'm just not ready to deal with all manual lens. I like the flash I think I can handle it, lol. So if you were me would you sell these and get other stuff or what? And are they worth selling? would anyone want to buy them? Or do you think that I should hold on to them?

The Lens are:
nikon nikkor 50mm 1:1.8 That is the little one in the pic
sigma zoom AF-A 1:3.5-4.5 f:35-135mm for nikon
sigma zoom-? 1:4~5 f=75~250mm for nikon

and then the Sunpak auto 433 D thyristor flash.

Thanks if you have any subjestion on what I should do.

DSC_1374 | Flickr - Photo Sharing!

Definitely keep the 50mm. You can search ebay to see if people are selling the sigmas but you are not going to get a bunch of money for them. I would keep the zooms too. If you don't use any of them in a year, get rid of them.

Keep them all as stated above the old primes are great. Why would you not be ready for MF?

Some of the older flashes have very high trigger voltages that can ruin modern digital camera circuits. The best I can tell the Sunpak Auto 433 is not among them however I did not do a thorough search. Before I used it on my camera I would do a LOT more investigation or try and find someone who has successfully used one.

I've only had my dslr a month and a half. I"ve gotten books I'm reading trying to learn. I've taken a couple pictures with each one and didn't do so good :( Except the 50mm I did get a decent one from it.... I can handle the camera's manual almost, but then add the lens to it, grr I'm just not ready for them.