need affordable lens

DooBr

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
ok i am pretty new to photography and in my college photography class i found myself always leaning towards macro shots of textures and sometimes bugs so i need a lens that can do it from a little bit of a distance. so i was thinking a telephoto lens? i was looking at the sigma AF 70-300mm and the tamron A017 70-300mm. does anybody own either of these that can enlighten me a little? the sigma has pretty good reviews online for the price but i cant seem to find any reliable reviews on the tamron. also do you have any opinions on zeikos macro extension tubes or extension tubes in general? and if you know of any macro lenses that are not specifically for zooming from afar in the price range of 200 dollars that you could let me know about that would be sick. any help would be appreciated. thanks.
http://www.ebay.com/itm/270900159148?ssPageName=STRK:MEWAX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1438.l2649

As an eBay Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
I know Sigma has a lot of focus issues lately so I’d go with canon. What body do you shoot with? If I were you, I’d get a Canon 100 macro. cheapest and gets real good reviews...

i have the eos 450d. and the problem is that the 2 that i posted are in the 200 dollar range while the canon is closer to the 500 dollar range. i am not looking to get into serious photogrohy at the moment im just trying to get a little more serious although im not that good yet. so for now im just looking for some nice beginner gear that will help me move up in the ranks.

Last edited: