Need help deciding what camera and equipment to use/purchase

Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hey everyone.

I am an aspiring journalist, but on the side, I'm going to be making a youtube channel.

My roommate and I will be shooting pranks, along with other videos. Rather than renting equipment, I figured it would be better to get my own equipment, take the financial hit now, and truly learn how to use a piece of equipment that I have in my own possession.

That brings me to my next question: What kind of camera and accessories should I be looking for?

I want to be able to shoot high-quality videos from a decent distance, and I was also curious about the best way to capture audio from a decent distance away. I've looked into wireless microphones, but I'm not sure what kind to look for. I've also entertained getting a separate audio recorder that has a microphone that can clip on, out of sight. I have no problem doing either of those.

My budget for this equipment is right around $300.

The cameras I've looked at so far:
Nikon P500 series
Nikon DSLR cameras

I appreciate the help. Thanks!

My roommate and I will be shooting pranks

I want to be able to shoot high-quality videos from a decent distance

Define decent distance!
I think you may be better off with several smaller cameras that are easily hidden rather then a camera with a big zoom lens that will draw a lot of attention.

GoPro cameras would be a good choice for a small camera you can hide. I've even seen where people have put them in the bouquet at a wedding.

I was also curious about the best way to capture audio from a decent distance away. I've looked into wireless microphones, but I'm not sure what kind to look for.

Don't go with the real cheep ones as the quality is bad.

My budget for this equipment is right around $300.

Your going to need to at least double that to get what you want.