Need help! EM5 (used) or EM10 (new)? or something else?

mike18

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hi everyone!

i'm new to the photography world and i want to buy my first (good) camera. I intend to bring it with me outdoors (camping, hiking). I want to take nature pics and also pics of my child. I want a camera that will be easy to use at first but that i will be able to grow with it and still enjoy it when i'll be better.

I was leaning toward mirrorless cameras because they are smaller/lighter for a comparable quality to DSLR. I am looking more specificaly at the om-d series of olympus. I wasn't so sure that the E-M5 was worth the difference in price tag. I love the fact that it is weathersealed and that it have a 5-axis stabilization system, but it bugs me that the processor is an older version and that it doesnt have built-in wi-fi. So I taugh of buying the E-M10 that comes with the 14-42 F3.5-5.6 lens.

But then i check out the used adds and i could get an E-M5 with a 12-50 f3.5-6.3 weatherproof lens for basicaly the same price (maybe even a little less). The camera has been used for a year and a half and has taken 7K photos max (at least, thats what i've been told). It look sharp but then again, i'm no photography pro!

So here are the questions :

-Is the E-M5 really better than the E-M10?

-Is the older version processor is concerning?

-Is all the whetersealed thing oversell? (I mean, i dont want to take pics Under heavy rain! And even if i bring it to camping, i wont lay it in dirt/sand/dust...)

-Does the 5-axis stabilization is realy better than a 3 axis? espacially for a beginner who might have unsteady hands?

-Wi-Fi, gadget or really usefull?

-Do you think it is fairly safe to buy used? What should i check for on a used camera to asses it's quality?

-Is 1 and half year + 7K photos are a heavy or light use? How long should this type of camera last?