Need Help Metering-Two Flash Setup

bradracino

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hey everyone...

I'm going to be hitting the road to shoot some models the end of this week and I need some advice/help with my setup.

I'm shooting with a 5d and two flashes- a 580EXII and a 430EX as the fill. I'm going to be using two pocket wizards; one on the 5d and one on the 580, and using the 430 as a slave. Now I just recently got a meter (a Gossen DigiPro F) and honestly, I'm not too good with it.

I know how to do the simple metering, but here's my question: Is there any easy formula or way to meter the model without the flashes, and then take that reading and know what kind of output to set my 580 to for some fill and highlights? The 580 is adjustable from 1/1 to 1/64 increments, and I'm not sure how to save time shooting with it using the meter?

Can anyone point me to some tutorials or sites that would give advice? Also, I know that the 430 is just a slave and you can't adjust it's output, so it's going to give off the same power as the 580... so any advice on that too would be a great help...

Thanks so much everyone, as always... you guys are always a great help to the lost photographer.

-Brad

The best thing to do would be to go spend some time on Strobist and look for lighting 101 and 102. Do not expect to be all knowing and ready to do a shoot in a couple hours... it takes a little more than that.

With a single light setup, I can easily come up with 40-50 variations off the top of my head. Add another light and that goes to over 200 variations... it took a little bit of dedicated time and practice, but its nothing that can be easily translated to a single "tell me what to do" thread and expect you to understand and have good results.

Experience and a lot of practice is a wonderful teacher. ;)