Need help on Tamron 18-250 lens

Reaction score
Hi There,
can somebody shed light on choosing nikkor 18-200 lens vs tamron 18-250 for nikon cameras which is said to boast 13+X zoom. I would like to know the impact on quality of a picture taken using tamron lens and the nikkor lens, which one is worth the money?

Thanks,
yours sincerely,
passion photographer

Thank you, I went through the replys in that thread and looks like it is a lens to go for, if you want to compromise quality and that 18-200 VR seems a better buy.

However considering that fact that I am new to this SLR lenses world, can you help me with this? - DSLRs these days come with default 18-55 lens as a kit and people buy 70-300 VR as a zoom lens on top of this. Some kits contain 18-135 instead of the 18-55 lens.

So what difference does it make if one buys 18-55 and 55-200 VR OR buy 18-200 VR? cant one get the same quality of the picture shot using 18-55 in the 18-200 VR? and though 105mm is in the 18-200 range, why do people buy it separately as fixed 105mm lens? - Sorry if I sounded stupid.

Thanks
yours sincerely,

passion photographer

That question is only stupid if you make lenses for a living.

The problem lies in the inherent complexity of lenses. Take a typical fixed lens the cheapest and easiest to make the 50mm f/1.8. It has about 6 elements that take care of taking the image outside projecting it back into the camera, some elements move and are dedicated to focusing, another element may be aspherical (not a standard spherical curve) to compensate for distortion, and some elements may be coated in a special way because different colours of light bend in a different way through glass.