Need help with film cameras and 4/3's

Taleman

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hi

Im in a bit of a situation. I have an Olympus E-510 with Several lenses and I love it, I really like the Olympus brand. However the problem is that as a student I have to start using 35mm film cameras for class and as far as I know there are no 35mm cameras that are part of the 4/3 system. So that means I would have to buy a different brand of film cameras witha different mount and also this would mean I have to reinvest in new lenses for the camera, that would get expensive and I don't have so much money to spend. What is the best course of actiopn to take in this situation?

check out KEH on line and find an old pentax K1000, with one prime lens .

http://thephotoforum.com/forum/showthread.php?t=127992

I advise this camera here. Great thing with many film cameras is they are inexpencive, even more so when they use lenses not compatable with current bodies of the same manufacturer. Furthermore Bodies like this have depreciated to a point where one can usually buy them, shoot them for a year or so and resell them for close to if not more than they originally paid.

As I understand it, the 4/3 lens system is made for digital SLR cameras with sensors that are smaller than 35mm film. So even if those lenses did fit onto a 35mm film camera, the lenses coverage wouldn't be enough for a frame of 35mm film....you would end up with a circle in the middle with black edges.

I agree with the others. An older 35mm film SLR can be had for a very low price.

Thanks for the advise. I just have one question. Is it better to buy an older camera or a newer one because as far as price is concerned, the Pebtax k1000 is about $200 when I checked KEH but the Nikon FM10 is at about the same price at B&H. So is there an advantage to it in my particular situation?