Need help with Kodak Z700 - adjusting settings...

Cat

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hello all! Newbie here, my photo-taking skills aren't anything to brag about even though I do love taking pictures. I guess I should say I'm barely camera-literate.

My problem is that I recently bought a Kodak Z700 digital camera to use primarily for sport events - basketball, cross country, and the like. My old digital, another Kodak, didn't have the video feature nor did it have a sports setting. So, while this Z700 does have both the sports setting still does not take quality basketball photos which is driving me crazy.

When using the sports setting (action?) in a gym I cannot get a photo that isn't incredibly dark, the further I zoom the darker it gets. My brother has a Kodak, too, although his doesn't have the optical zoom that mine does but his camera takes relatively decent sports photos and the only dark ones he gets is if he accidentally leaves the flash on. With my camera, I get a good light photo if I use the landscape setting during games, but of course everything's a blur as the girls are all in motion! I've tried the Party feature for photos taken indoors, and of course those are blurry, as well.

I read the manual about adjusting the settings using the PAS setting, but even then I'm at a loss. I don't grasp exactly how to fix my problems by adjusting the settings. Some photos I took last night I had adjusted the ISO (which again, I really don't understand what I'm talking about when I say ISO.) to something like 400 which helped with the quality of the color, however they were still quite fuzzy.

So, does anyone have any information as to what I might try to get the settings adjusted for good, clear, crisp basketball photos?

TIA! :D

Did I make some huge faux paux in asking this question? Is this not a Kodak-friendly forum? Do I have toilet paper hanging from my shoe?

ops.gif

Cat said: