Need help with new camera + lens!

azn_souja

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hey, I am new to photography and I thought I would start off with a T3i which I bought today. Although I only bought the body, I'm looking for a 18-55mm lens and I was told to go on ebay to look for one but I'm not sure if there are such things as fake lenses or anything. I saw these ones that were 2x cheaper than retail here: ★ Canon EF-S 18-55 18-55mm f3.5-5.6 IS SLR Lens 18 55 | eBay

Any help is appreciated thanks! :D

As an eBay Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
They want $112, average retail looks like $180-$200, it says new in "bulk packaging" from South Korea. Grey market maybe? I would do serious research on the seller and ask questions before buying.

Save yourself some cash and skip the 18-55. Not the greatest lens imo... I and many others love the 50mm 1.8 and you'll love the pricetag. New it will run you a little under $100. It's sharp and will teach you a lot m ore than the 18.55 will.

The 18-55is is an ok lens. I personally would recommend the tamron 28-75 f2.8 ... Your lens is your most important investment and you should never invest in "ok" glass when "great" glass can be had for cheap :)

Awesome, are those lenses from the ebay seller trusted though? Because their lenses are cheaper than retail by a lot :O
What I mean is are they legit lenses, like original?

I can also recommend the Canon 50mm f1.8! It is a very good lens, and it gives a very good depth in the pictures you take. It is one of my personal favorites :) and as @JasonLambert says, it isn't too expensive, so go get it ;-)

Save yourself some cash and skip the 18-55. Not the greatest lens imo... I and many others love the 50mm 1.8 and you'll love the pricetag. New it will run you a little under $100. It's sharp and will teach you a lot m ore than the 18.55 will.

Absolutely agree!