Need lens for D7000...please advise...I am a newbie!

disneyfamilyfive

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hi there, I am getting a D7000 and need a lens or two to go with it. I am not looking to spend tons of money on the lens right now (I know you get what you pay for) but with the fact that I am just getting a DSLR for the first time, I don't know what range I am going to be using most...once I know my "shooting style" I will want to upgrade...so let me tell you a little about me and my photo needs so you are able to best help me... I am not taking pictures as a business...just as a mom who wants great pictures of her 4 active children. I have gone through several point and shoots (latest panasonic ZS5) trying to get the speed and image quality that I want and haven't been happy...
This camera and lens (es) will basically be my everyday camera to take pictures of the kids indoors and out. I tend to like closer up shots and often do cropping after. I will be shooting action pictures outdoors (soccer pictures of the kids) a few times a year.
I have considered the Nikon 18-200 VRII but heard that the IQ is not so great with the 7000 (less forgiving then say the D40 or 50)
I have considered doing the 35mm prime (1.8) and the 55-200mm Nikon
I am also considering the 18-105mm Nikon and a prime
As you can see...I am so overwhelmed with the choices and picking the right one for me...top that with having no prior experience with a DSLR I would love to hear your thoughts and advise for me!
Thank you in advance for your help...It's greatly appreciated!!

The 35mm is a great lens. You wouldn't be disappointed with it.

I really think you'll enjoy the 18-105 kit lens that comes standard with the D7000.

The 35mm is a great lens. You wouldn't be disappointed with it.

Soccer photos of the kids with a 35mm lens? Better be standing on the field somewhere.