Need pricing advice

Lexiwithalens

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I'm fairly new to photography as a business, though it's been my hobby for several years. Since I started venturing into the business side I've done two weddings, and several engagament/family sessions and a few birthday parties. Recently an assignment has presented itself that I would love to do, but have no idea how to figure out what to charge. A relative of mine is a firefighter, and his department is wanting have new pictures taken, as a group, each one individually and of each one with his or her spouse and family. What I normally do is provide my clients with a cd of their digital images with a copyright release, but that could become pretty pricey if I provided each of them a CD. What would you do in this situation? How much would you charge and how would you give them their photos? (digitally, prints, etc). Any advice will be greatly appreciated.

A search of the forum would have revealed a wealth of almost identical questions. The simple answer is: Only you can decide what to charge. Once you have figured out your costs (factoring in everything from salary to insurance to advertising, etc) you know what the minimum return you need from a given job is (referred to as "CODB" or "Cost of doing business").

You need to esitmate how long this job will take, and what your hard costs are (fuel, discs/prints, etc) and factor that in.

If I were doing this job, my pricing would depend on who was paying. If it were the fire department/government then it would be a set price for the job based on my standard $100/hr rate + travel for the number of hours (+10%) I estimate it will take. If the individuals are paying for it out of their own pocket, then I would price it based on a standard family portrait session, with a discount based on the number of guarenteed sessions.