Need some feedback...Please be gentle!

cbryk0718

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hi. I'm very new at this! About a month ago I was seeing some really great photos that other moms were posting of their babies on a mom board I'm a member of and I noticed how horrible mine were! So I started asking some questions and finding some sites and am trying to learn all I can about photography and editing. Mainly so I can take great photos of my daughter, friends and family. Right now I am using my moms 3.2 mp Canon Powershot S30. It is years old but it's all I have. For Christmas I am getting my own camera although we can't afford too much. Here are a few shots of my daughter I took yesterday. Please let me know what you think! (But like I said, please be gentle ;) )

IMG_4037-2.jpg

IMG_4024-3.jpg

IMG_4023-3.jpg

Turn off you flash, and shoot in "portait mode"...that's probably the best option for you.

When you do get a new camera, may I suggest the Canon Powershot S3IS or S5...they are not too expensive, but give great results.

i like number two. i actually said "aww" when i first saw it and thats always a good sign with baby pictures.

Hiya cbryk, welcome to ThePhotoForum.

I moved your post from The Beginners' Place over to our People and Pets Gallery, since The Beginners' Place is more designed to be a Q&A forum, and the galleries are for showing photos. OK? Even beginners to both the hobby as well as the forums are welcome to post their photos in the galleries.

With a daughter as pretty and as cute as yours I am so NOT surprised to hear you would wish to learn more about photography to take lovely photos of her.

The Powershots, older models or newer ones, are quite powerful little cameras and I am quite sure you will also be able to achieve some good results with your mom's camera. You will only have to observe a couple of little things.