Need subjects, settings

I

Iron Flatline

OMG, I'm having the most embarrassing problem, but I will be frank about it.

I have all this great gear, but I don't know how to get started. I bought some strobe materials (flash guns, stands, umbrellas, triggers, all of that good stuff) but I have no one to shoot. It never occurred to me how little time I have with my kids for this kind of photography, seeing as they have school and life. My wife also has some - but highly limited - patience for this kind of work.

What to do? I don't feel confident enough yet to ask models for TFP, nor do I have a good space to shoot in.

I've been shooting for 25 years, but this is the first time in my life that I am doing my own lighting. I used to only shoot available light. I feel like I have to take several steps back before growing again. No problem, I look forward to the process... but now I seem stuck and unable to begin.

So.... ANY ideas?

Self portrait time?
Start to learn to love your remote and your timer ;)

That is all that comes to my mind - well the rest of the ideas just have bugs, plants, objects and other macro sorts of ideas. Or you could take to photographing your pets?

Friends can come in handy. Have a few come in once and a while. Make them supper, then have a few hours photoshoot with them :)

I am serious when I say this.

Go buy some fruit. Different colors and different shapes. Then make some arrangements and shoot. Move some lights / flashes around and shoot some more. Then move the fruit around.

This works well for several reasons. Different colors, different shapes in the fruit itself and in the arrangement. Different textures in the fruit itself.

Back lighting, top lighting (hair light), side lighting. Will give different light for the colors, textures, and shapes.

And when your done. Give the fruit to your wife and say, fruit salad please. :mrgreen: