never expected this behavior from a "professional"

I'd have a hard time keeping my mouth shut too. I'd play dumb but ask questions that made him eithe rlie through his teeth and get caught or made him fess up. Like "Um, excuse me sir, but how come I can set my aperture to f2.8 on my worthless little point and shoot? And how come my lens I bought for my dslr says f1.8?" or "You said ISO is the most important setting. What's the best ISO to use all the time? Should I ever adjust it?"

This is EXACTLY what I would do as well!!!

Also, I would write a professional.. yet slightly opinionated letter to the company he is with.
I wouldnt say that I'm a photographer but I would say that his presentation upset some people who only had 'useless little point and shoots'.

This dudes a goober!

when he started dissing your stuff, that's the part where I would have went up...asked him to step aside...and talked him back to the ground. (I actually would have). I find it better to stand up for yourself.

Plus, all that false information spewing out...I wouldn't want everyone to believe it. It's like when I walk into a computer/electronics store...I always correct the salespeople selling stuff by lying...it's not right...and the customer deserves to know the truth.

You should have held up an H3D in return. That would shut him up.

You should have held up an H3D in return. That would shut him up.

That would have been hillarious.

"Damnit! I just spent $30K on this POS."

I hate it when professionals think that younger people can't be good photographers. I recently won a competition at the Dallas Zoo that had pro, amateur, youth, and child classes and I entered the youth because I'm 18. People questioned that I took the winning image and then I proceeded to shut them down with why my Nikkor 105mm f/2.5 AI-S had been the best choice for the shot etc.

In high school I was always at odds with my photography teacher after I realized I knew more than she did.