New and a few ?'s thanks!

CRman

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Brand new to the forum and a hello to all. I travel a great deal and enjoy photography very much. Outside of an old slr and my array of small digitals I am new to the dslr world. I am getting books, reading forums and reviews and the like. I have narrowed my choices down to basically 3 cameras I am looking at. I'd just like real world feed back from others whom have more knowledge.

In no specific order:

Nikon D80
Sony Alpha 700
Canon eos 40D

I really like that sony has the anti shake built in. I worry about the availability of after market lenses. Its also 12mp. Nothing rings out about the Canon except the big lcd and the feel. Its perfect in my hands. Same said for the D80. It just feels perfect. I havent had the chance to pick up the sony except for the A100.... the little guy.

I'll start out with a 28-200 lens as a base and pic and choose from there. It seems like a good starting point and have seen it as a reference for a beginner. Most of my pictures are outdoors both landscape and distant objects. I do a fair amount of indoor shooting as well. Buying a couple extra lenses when I figure out whats needed is doable. I dont shoot sports, any action shoots or such.

Heres another question with out popping a new thread, and this would be a can of worms I can imagine, If I were to buy 3 lenes, and carried them with me, what 3 would you recommend?(not including the above listed) I'll try not to throw out to many newbie questions. Promise! I am hitting the book stores today as well.

Just looking to gather opinions from those that know. Advice, pros and cons and general help on whats what. I'll ultimately make the decission though real world experience speaks for itself. Thanks again and I am glad to be part of the board.

Marc