New Beginners

TGordon

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I'm a new photographer and looking forward to taking pictures. But first I have to learn how to use this camera so I can have clear and quality photos. I have a Canon EOS 60d.

Should I take a class or learn online for free?

read the manual.
take pictures - and compare them to the best you see and correct what you are doing.
take a class
take pictures - and compare them to the best you see and correct what you are doing.
look at others' pictures and c/c on line
find tutorials on line

and when you have spare time, take pictures- and compare them to the best you see and correct what you are doing.

there is no one way that is the only way but there is one way that is crucial to improvement - take pictures, compare them to the best you see and correct what you are doing.

TGordon, welcome to the Forum and to Photography in general. You will find that it can be a very addicting, yet interesting hobby, at least for me it is. You do have to watch that you don't get GAS - Gear Acquisition Syndrome - an affliction that I feel a lot of us have :lol:. In my opinion, learning how to use your camera and learning how to make good photographs are two different things. You can learn how to use your camera you by reading the manual and then trying out all the features of your camera - read the manual again and try out the different things on your camera, etc. I don't think that you need to take a course or even go online to learn how to use your camera.