New camera-pics look worse than my P&S

gc2010

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I apologize in advance as I am TOTALLY new to this. I just bought a Fujifilm S3280. Thought it was a nice upgrade from my 40 dollar P&S. The S3280 takes awesome outdoor shots. But any indoor shots I take are grainy and not crisp. I'm using it on the auto setting...as I don't really know how to adjust any other settings.

I would take one shot with the S3280 and one shot with my little Canon and the Canon shots always looked crystal clear. The S3280 shots look grainy and darker than the others...even with natural light coming in the windows.

Like I said I know nothing about settings. Can someone advise me here? I thought about taking the camera back (thinking it was defective) but decided it was probably user error and my lack of knowledge about how to use the camera.

Any thoughts?

I've searched the forum and found some responses that suggest higher ISO can make pics look grainy....but I don't even know what ISO is or how to change it?!?!? HELP

I apologize in advance as I am TOTALLY new to this. I just bought a Fujifilm S3280. Thought it was a nice upgrade from my 40 dollar P&S. The S3280 takes awesome outdoor shots. But any indoor shots I take are grainy and not crisp. I'm using it on the auto setting...as I don't really know how to adjust any other settings.

I would take one shot with the S3280 and one shot with my little Canon and the Canon shots always looked crystal clear. The S3280 shots look grainy and darker than the others...even with natural light coming in the windows.

Like I said I know nothing about settings. Can someone advise me here? I thought about taking the camera back (thinking it was defective) but decided it was probably user error and my lack of knowledge about how to use the camera.

Any thoughts?