new dslr advice

mtnman

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hey all new here. I have a t2i and am looking to upgrade and have a question. On the 70D can you pick which focal point(s) you want to use? For instance when i was on Vacation in Ecuador last Christmas i was taking pictures of Parrots in trees. My t2i wouldn't give me a clear pic of the parrots because it was focusing on all the branches and leaves in front. Can you choose one focal point or multiples on a 70D to focus on just the parrot in that situation?
thanks

You can choose one onthe 70D. If you are seriously looking at the 70D go to Canons site and download the owners manual, that way you can see exactly what it can and can't do. I recently purchased one as an upgrade from a 20D and love it. I am still learning how to use all the different settings. For me personally I prefer being able to change the settings on the live view screen as I was never really able to get the hang of changing them using the switches and dials on the 20D.

You have to read T2i manual. It is on page 68. You can choose one of the nine AF points. 70D has 19 AF points and can be choose one of them.

I have a T2i and use only the center single focus point. I don't remember the path to set it but it was easy, figured it out in just a few minutes of pushing buttons. You may need to be in a different mode than "Auto" to get there., I believe "Auto" may use all the focus points. With your T2i you can set most the same settings as you can with the 70D.

The 70D does do more than the T2i, but if you are not into video save your money until you have learned the equipment you have. The T2i is still a very good camera; the sensor on the 70D is said to be a little better than the T2i but not much and definitely not worth the cost if you already own a T2i. Move up from the T2i when you have learned what your camera can do and find it cannot do something you want.