New DSLR nikon D90, and 35 mm wide angle lens?

crackers2010

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
i just bought my coworkers Nikon D90. It's used but in great condition. She upgraded to the 300.

My question is this. I was reading pioneer woman and she talks about the 35 mm wide angle lens and what it can do. I love it! It does everything that I want to start experimenting with. (i'm an extreme beginner and have never owned a DSLR). I want to do bokeh shots, up close shots, and would love to do some wide angle shots like she described. here is a link

My Current Favorite Lens | Pioneer Woman Photography | Ree Drummond

my question is...someone had commented on the fact that she uses a full frame camera with her 35 mm and a 35 mm might not act the same way on the nikon d90 that i have?

Could someone tell me if the 35 mm wide angle would work the same way on my d90?

if not, what lens do you recommend that would give me macro food shots, good bokeh shots of people/flowers etc, and give me the wide angle that i'm looking for in landscapes. plus i just love wide angle shots!

thanks for your help you guys are great

It will work the same way, but the field of view will be different (you won't get as much of the scene in the frame).

I can't recommend the Sigma 18-50 f/2.8 enough for what you're wanting to do, it's an incredible lens and rather versatile as well. Bokeh is great and it can be sharp as a tack.

Having owned the 35 f/1.8 I think it's still fairly wide for most things, and for the most part it's a few steps back to capture the same field of view - if that's possible where you shoot than it shouldn't be an issue.

That 20mm lens she shows would be closer to what you'd want I would think.