New guy's first attempt at hdr

tripwater

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I saw this truck this morning while I was driving around looking for things to shoot. I got really lucky because the sun was rising and front lighting this scene and there were dark storm clouds in the background.

I was not sure if I should post this in the hdr section of this forum since I am new or just post in here since I am a beginner photographer. Either way I am excited and the possibilities!

transportation - timkelley's Photos

Nice work; the HDR aspect is a bit exagerated for my taste, but it does give an interesting effect to the image.

Yeah I went back and forth as to whether to go natural or a bit surreal with it. Once I started tweaking things I decided to just go for a cool surreal yet not too cartoony look. I have seen some that look like a neon or chalk drawing and I did not want to go that far with it.

I have a few other angles that I am going to work with of this truck and try them in fdrtools instead of Photomatix to get my feet wet with that app. It does more detail and contrast adjustments than the surreal stuff.

Thanks for the comments.

I took the same 3 exposures and loaded them into fdrtools. I know I said I was going to go for realistic next, but this is just too much fun! :D

Check out the contrasting styles
transportation - timkelley's Photos

Great subject but you went to heavy on the tone mapping. The best HDRs are the images that dont look HDR.

Great subject but you went to heavy on the tone mapping. The best HDRs are the images that dont look HDR.

Thanks. And although I appreciate your comment I have to disagree. It is all based off of personal taste. Not what is BEST! Like tirediron said it's a bit much for his taste but he never said what is best when it comes to artistic vision. That is a bit much. And in my defense I did state above that I was enjoying the surreal side of HDR in this endeavor.