New here! Looking for pointers

Lemmon879

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello, I'm new to this forum. I am just starting to build my portfolio and was hoping to get some pointers from you all! I have a Canon t3i DSLR camera and enjoy shooting all sorts of subjects. I am not an expert on Photo shop or Light room, but hope to start working at it. I have two main lenses that I use now (18-55mm and 18-135mm), however I am looking for opinions on if there is a better lens out there for photography.

Any advice on the basics to start out would be appreciated. I enjoy seeing what other people like to use -Lenses, backdrops, camera settings, etc.

Thank you!

I would recommend two lenses to get better results

Canon 24-70mm 2.8 II
Canon 70-200mm 2.8 II

excellent lenses

It's difficult to make a recommendation without knowing the amount you can spend, in what ways your current lenses don't measure up to your expectations and how you would use the lenses (studio, walking around, etc.).

I would recommend two lenses to get better results

Canon 24-70mm 2.8 II
Canon 70-200mm 2.8 II

excellent lenses
Excellent lenses indeed, BUT... recommending expensive glass for better results is a little like say, "Oh, you're having trouble driving? Buy a Porsche!"

The first rule of buying gear is, "Don't!" Don't buy something until you KNOW what you need, or you have identified an area where your present gear isn't meeting your requirements. Buying equipment in the hope that it will lead to better images is invariably going to lead to disapointment. The 18-55 is in fact a very good lens with millions of dollars of R&D behind it. It's many orders of magnitude better than the lenses that even the best pros had 100 years ago, and there were some amazing images crafted then.

Take the gear you have, learn to use to its full potential, and THEN address your GAS*

*Gear Acquisition Syndrome