New Photographer First picture comments?

krisso123

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi everyone,
Just went out today and took some pictures, heres one im happy with but need some constructive criticism as im new to photography. Ive had a little play with it on PS.

IMG_0006.jpg

I like the story of the toy amongst the rubble. There are very few photos that this tilt would make look good, this is not one of them. Being an overcast day, you'll get nice even lighting but any shadowed areas will look very dark. This is one of those photos that bracketing would work wonders...

Another note, the toy is too close to the edge of the frame...makes it really difficult to fix photo and keep subject from being cut...

Here is an edit (albiet, not a good one)...I recorrected the tilt...but lost a lot of the photo due to the extreme angle of the original...I did a little cloning where there were black corners due to the tilt correction...dodged some of the dark areas (which produced some horrible artifacts where the original was the darkest) and did a little high-pass filtering...

IMG_0006edit.jpg

Also please keep in mind for future shots, if the sky is bland and grey...don't let it into the photo...unless it works for the photo...I guess its subjective...but anyways, keep shooting...

This is what I like to think when I start to go to correct some of my mistakes in Photoshop/GiMP/Etc, , put a pretty ribbon on a piece of poop, its still crap...
Make your photos look good in-camera...accentuate it if necessary in an imaging program, but if its a bad photo..post-processing generally won't assist with correcting the problem...