New Rebel XTi Owner - New to Photography

aaronparker

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
EDIT: Sorry about the crazy long post!

Hi all! Let me briefly introduce myself. My name is Aaron and I'm a total newbie when it comes to photography.

I've had the itch to get into photography as a hobby for at least a year, and I finally decided to act upon it this week. I just received my brand new Canon Rebel XTi w/kit lens earlier this week. As one might expect, I've got a few questions:

1.) I need a solution for the neck strap. I find the stock strap adequately comfortable, but I need an easier way to put it on/take it off. As it stands, it's a pain in the butt to do either. I like the strap, but I don't want it on there all the time. Any solutions out there to this? I'd prefer a solution that simply modifies the existing strap, as I really do like it.

2.) Gotta find a solution to carry this thing around. I don't plan on going crazy with lens. Heck, I had a hard enough time justifying this $750 purchase to my wife--I can only imagine trying to explain I need another $200-400. My point is, I don't need anything with a ton of room. I just need something that's going to provide adequate protection, but is relatively compact. And I'd prefer something that doesn't look goofy. Style would be a plus.

3.) Speaking of lens, I do plan on getting one more. I'm going to pick up the Canon f/1.8 50(55?)mm lens to get some cool DoF shots going on. Any thoughts on this lens? It's so cheap compared to most, I figure it would be crazy to NOT have it.