New to dslr - lens combo

sinister1

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi,

The FNG here! :sexywink: Great site. I just joined last night and so glad I found you guys. First, I am very new to the dslr world. The last camera I've been using is the Sony H1. Second, I am still learning all the dslr lingo and I have quite a few questions. And Third, I mostly like to shoot scenery shots, at parties/family get-togethers, and occasional close ups (macro shots?). I'm pretty set on purchasing the Canon EOS 40D with the 17-85mm kit lens. I think the kit lens will serve me pretty good for very amateur scenery shots and basically every day shots of people and friends. I am also considering purchasing the Canon EF 100mm F/2.8 lens for evening/indoor shots. Price is an issue so I'd like to get the best lens for low light conditions. Do you guys feel that the 17-85 and 100mm will serve as a good lens combo for the time being? I'd probably like to get a higher zoom lens in the future but would like to have the best combination of lens in the immediate time. Any other indoor/evening lens that you can recommend below $500? I will continue to do searches in this forum but wanted to get your input on my particular situation. BIG THANKS! :hail:

I'm still a little confused with the whole 100mm, 17-85mm, etc descriptions on lens. Is there a calculation where you can determine how far out and how close you can zoom in with those #'s? Like...how far and how close can you zoom in with 17-85mm lens ( in inches or feet)? Same with the 100mm? :confused:

i think a 100mm would be WAY too long for inside, especially on a crop sensor.

i have a 40d and 28-135. i found myself always backing into walls using 28mm.

i wound up getting a 17-55 and LOVE it.
i haven't taken it off my camera yet and i got it three months(1000's of exposures) ago.

i think you'd be better off getting a flash for low light instead of 'fast glass'.

just my 2 cent's..