New to lighting

MrsAgnitude

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Look to set up a portable studio. I am thinking that 2 600EX-RT flashes, Speedlite ST-E3-RT radio transmitter and soft boxes/stands might be the best plan for me since I don have a set studio area and will be using on locations. I am totally new to this and looking for any input on if this would be effective, any other suggestions or additional equipment that I might need to consider. Will be taking anything from infant, children, families and full body shots ( pageant photos). I have a Canon 5d Mark II and mainly shoot with 85 mm 1.8 and looking to add he 24-70 pretty soon. Keeping under $2000.

Welcome to the forum.

Your plan is a rather expensive one. Those flashes are very expensive and I think the ST-E3 isn't cheap either.

Lets talk about the pros and cons. Firstly, they are very good flash units (if they are like the other Canon units). Plenty of power and all that.
If you get this system, they will communicate with the camera and give you the ability to use E-TTL (auto flash metering) with the remote flashes. You could control the power of the lights and control the ratio between the two. You could use other features, like High Speed Sync, just as if the flash was mounted on the camera. The new units (600EX RT) have the added ability that they use radio communication, which is much better than the previous system, which used light pulses (or IR). That system wasn't great, especially outdoors. But of course, the cost will be rather high,

Using E-TTL can be great, but it's not ideal for everyone. It is still an auto system, and as such, it will change based on the reflectivity (and other things) of the subject and the scene. As such, it can be unpredictable at times.