New to photography, need advice on two pics!

Phazan

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi, I'm new to photography, I am 16, and yesterday, I opened up my awesome brand new Canon S3 IS!! I love it so far. I have two pictures that I like a lot, and I was wondering if any of you could give me advice on them. The first picture was taken at Disney Land with my previous camera (Point-and-Shoot Kodak C330) and the second picture was taken yesterday with my new S3. Any advice would be appreciated! :D

100_0829.jpg

Point and shoot.

I don't really need a ton of advice on this one, I just wanted to you guys to see it, it's one of my favorite pictures I have taken.

IMG_0164.jpg

And my recent picture taken with my S3. (Any advice on this, would be awesome!)

Anyone has permission to edit these...

You clearly have an interest and an eye for composition. The second picture is well focussed, good DOF and well composed.
Do you have access to any post-processsing software like Photoshop. Photoshop elements, PaintShop Pro or any of the others?

^Yes, I have photoshop, but I can only do basic things on it.
Just a question, what do you mean by "composition"? Does that mean I set the picture up well? Sorry, I didn't know what you meant by that.
Also, thanks for the reply!

First, thanks for letting me post this; the image is a great start for bunch of reasons. You picked an interesting group of red things against a good OOF background. The focus is great and the DOF is good.

You have placed the objects of interest in the field very well (composition). The size is sort of non-standard for a print - altho it fits neatly on a screen - and if you planned to print this I would crop it to 4h x 5w, taking most of it off the right margin.