New to photography, where to learn?

cameraman

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I just got a digital camera, I am very new to photography. Where can I learn the basics?

I tried Googling but a lot of sites I came across assume you know a lot of things already.

I do not plan on taking any classes or paying for anything, I am just looking for some sites for the basics of lighting, what all the things on the camera do and all that. I just want to learn how to take decent photos, nothing special.

An example, in the manual it says "AF Mode: Sets the camera's AF mode to iESP or Spot.", but I have no idea what iESP and Spot are..

Also, I am using Gimp, not Photoshop, anyone have any good sites that deal with photography and Gimp?

You can always ask questions in here, for one thing (welcome to TFP, by the way!). We're pretty nice, and love to see more people getting into photography! If you go to a bookstore, check the photography section--there are several good 'beginner' books that explain basic photography terms, concepts, etc.

As far as the first question you asked there, AF Mode is going to be the way the camera manages its autofocus. spot AF (I'm guessing) forces the camera to focus on a particular area of the frame, probably in the center. the iESP sounds (I might be wrong) like a predictive autofocus. In other words, the camera analyzes all the subjects in the frame and predicts which one is the primary subject. Good for sporting events and such, where the action moves quickly and shifts a lot.

:cheers:

Thanks. Okay a few questions:

The higher I make the ISO, the more noise in the picture, what's the advantage of increasing the ISO?

Should I change the function mode in my camera when shooting or do that in my image manipulating program (Gimp, Photoshop..etc).. for example, should I set the function to Black adn White or just do that after the picture is taken?