New to the board and business!!

Capturemecute

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hello everyone,
I have been lurking here for a while and wanted to say thank you for all of the wonderful information and ideas that you have all given me. On that note I have finally decided to take the plunge and start my own photography business. I would love to have some advice and a critique of my website. I just finished it and did it all by myself (no past experience). Please take a look and let me know what you think!!

www.capturemecute.com

Thank you in advance!!

Amy :lovey:

Welcome to the forum and to the business.

You web site in nice and simple, it's not too cluttered and it gets the point across. You need more shots in your gallery but that will come as you get more work.

While I'm not a pro photographer, I am a website designer and developer.

There are some things I'd change about your site. The photo you chose for the splash page is great. I think its a nice example of what people could expect to see.

There are, however, a lot of things that need improvement on your site.

(In my opion...) Some problems:

1. The header text is too large. Its pushing that first image off of my page, and I run at a fairly large resolution. (1280x1024) I'd decrease the size of your header text.

2. I had to scroll down to see your navigation. You should make it as easy as possible for a user to navigate through your site. To do this, it needs to be visible on every screen and to be in the same place on every screen.

3. The background is distracting to me. I don't think the pattern is terrible, but you might want to edit the image and decrease the saturation on it. That's what I would probably do.

4. I would get rid of the marquee and find a different way to display your special. Marquees are sort of considered a "web design no-no" these days.