New to the board - Photography novice

Stevie

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hi, newbie here. I've been lurking for a week or so and thought I should register so I can ask some annoying newbie questions, lol. I got a new Canon Rebel K2 film camera for Christmas and have absolutely no idea whatsoever how to use it, or what assessories to buy for it. I signed up for a beginners photography class which starts in February but I would like to learn what I can before then so I don't walk in totally clueless.

My question to you is, for a beginner, what lenses or other gear do you suggest? The camera came with a 28-90mm zoom lens and I bought a cirular polarizer. I'm interested in wide angle and macro lenses.

I took two rolls of pictures on Christmas day, just experimenting around. All of the pics came out 'okay' but really mundane. I'd like to shoot some interesting night photos, still life and architecture settings, but I have no idea what I need, if anything, to do that. Is there a special flash or something? Sorry, I said I was a novice, lol.

TIA.

Stevie, welcome.

Lense type is really governed by the types of photo you want to take. The 28-90mm that came with the camera is a good place to start and will be suitable for a wide variety of photography.

It's good to get some experience and find out a bit about what you like taking pictures of before going out to buy more stuff, and the camera you have offers a fair range of options.

Night photographs tend to be more about the length of the exposure than the flash. The only thing you'd really need to take some great night shots would be a tripod (and perhaps a cable release) as holding the camera steady for the exposire time required is pretty much impossible.