New to the forum and new to Photography

FWIW, the 18-200mm lens is often referred to as "the jack of all trades, master of none". It's very convenient since it covers a lot of useful focal lengths but from what I've read its image quality leaves a bit to be desired.

Last edited:
So what makes a wide angle lens? Is it the fact that it goes to 300mm? Or something else.

Remember I'm very new at this, so go easy on me ;-)

Edit: just looked at that link, photos are very impressive. Those are the kinds of pictures that motivate me to learn about this. Thanks.

So from your description, my kit lens, 18-55mm, AND the tamron 18-270 mm are wide angle since they are both under 35mm? And the 70-300mm lens is not wide angle?

You lost me when you started talking about the DX equivalent. But maybe we shouldn't go there yet, I'm confused enough.

Sorry, thanks for your patience. I probably should be reading a book or two before posting questions.

The easiest way I can describe wide angle and telephoto is with wide angle, think of landscapes...wide, scenic pictures. For telephoto, think telescope...getting closer to the subject for say, photographing wild animals or birds. The wider the lens, the smaller the number, so for the 18-55 lens that you have, it goes from wide and being able to fit more into the frame to being at about what you see with your eyes. From there, you get into telephoto...bringing subjects closer to you. So for the 70-300, 70mm would be consider what's called short telephoto, and that continues to about 200mm (subject to personal opinion). Telephoto from 200mm on up, you're drawing the subject closer to you, rather than trying to fit more in with wide angle.