new to the hobby

pixelss

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello,

I been surfing this section for some time now, looking for the best camera that will fit me ( budget ). i'm a beginner.

seem that people with more experience recommend the canon XSI or 40d for beginners. but i don't have preference over any brand, just looking for best bang for my money.

i can get the the XSI for with 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS for $495.49 ( used - like new )
or the 40d for $512 just the body ( used - good condition )

Also seem the 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS is the lens for learning and better fit for beginners.

What you guys think? i want something good from the get go. :thumbup:

Last edited:
At woot.com there is a Pentax K-x with lens for $440. It will probably be gone soon - today or tomorrow. Also check dealnews.com day and night for a great deal.

About the "kit" 18-55 lens. It's fine for learning. Mainly it's an economical lens with a very useful normal range.

Don't feel pressured to buy the first great deal you find. There will be another and another.

At woot.com there is a Pentax K-x with lens for $440. It will probably be gone soon - today or tomorrow. Also check dealnews.com day and night for a great deal.

About the "kit" 18-55 lens. It's fine for learning. Mainly it's an economical lens with a very useful normal range.

Don't feel pressured to buy the first great deal you find. There will be another and another.

thank you for the sites, i will be checking those sites all night hehehe.

whatever body i end up buying, i will get the 18-55 lens for now, learn and save for better glass.

dealnews does change fro time to time. woot actually changes every midnight but the pentax is in a side / sellout section, so I really don't know about that. seems like I went back and found something there like a day or two later. Have fun.