New to the Photography World

NikonFM10

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hello all, I just bought a Nikon FM10. I'm so excited and I cant wait to use it. Since there are so many different types and brands of film, I'm not really sure which ones to buy. I do know that I would like to use black and white film as well as color. The same goes for lenses as well. I know that I can use All Nikkor AF-D, AI-P, AF-I, AI-S and AF-S lenses but I haven't a clue on which one I should buy if I do go to buy one. My camera is coming with a Zoom Nikkor 35-70mm f/3.5-4.8 lens so that will be the only one I will have when it arrives. I really could use some advice from all the photography people out there. All of your help would be greatly appreciated.

Welcome to the site, and congrats on your camera! I hope you have a blast with it:) I don't have much advice to give you as I'm a newbie myself and plus I'm going the digital route instead of the film route... but I figured I'd bump this for you! If you don't get any responses here, try posting this under the film discussion section (If you haven't already that is, I haven't looked.)

As your just starting out I would go for the cheapest you can find, learning with film can be a costly experience, cheap black and white film would be the best choice, then you could buy an instruction book, a developing tank and chemical pack then dev and scan your own negs, its pretty easy once you've done 1 and only takes an hour start to finish. This will save a fortune on processing while you learn, have fun, I used to love doing my own film and hand printing in the darkroom, sadly we now have this crap to put up with. H

Film has it's own unique properties that make them slightly different then another.
Back in the day, there was a lot of variety.