New to the site - Few Pics for your C&C

JNA Photo

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I have always enjoyed photography, and I have recently decided to get more serious about it. I have a Nikon D60 with the 18-55mm kit lens, and am saving to buy a better lens soon. I have been doing a lot of reading and researching online, and I have found this site to be very helpful.

The lovely model in these pics is my wife, who has been modeling for about 3 years now.

Any C&C that can help me to improve will be greatly appreciated!

2009-02-28-027bw.jpg

2009-03-08-048.jpg

2009-03-07-037.jpg

Take my criticism with a grain of salt as I am a noob, however here goes.

# 1 is nice and interesting in my opinion. #2 I like the most the light from the window is soft...looks great, the thing I dont like is that her arm is cut off...the wine glass is holding in the shot by only the one finger. Correct me if I'm wrong, I think it's best if there is continuity in a limb (ie: from shoulder to the hand, so there is not what appears to be a random finger in the shot) I hope I'm explaining this right. I think overall they're nice shots, and a very pretty model.

Thanks, Sly for your feedback. Now that you mention the one finger in Pic #2...I can now see how awkward that looks. That's why I am here asking for C&C...to make my work better!

with my noob eyes, all looks pretty good (exposure wise), #1 i think is the best one, #2 first of all, the fence is distracting, the way you frame the shot, if you put your attention to her hand holding the glass wine the finger looks kinda awkward sitting on the edge of the pic. #3 it needs a little more of DOF imo.