New to tpf from cincinnati

dpollard1

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hello, Im a beginner photographer. I've had my camera since 2007, and last May of 2010, I started photographing people other than my own children. Im trying to get myself out there in the "professional world." Im planning to upgrade my camera to a 5d mark ii from a canon 30d in a few months, and hopefully that will give me the edge I need to build up a great portfolio so I can acheive a "professional" title. My goal for 2011 is to gain a professional photographer certificate and to have a website. Looking foward to gaining more knowledge and to helping in anyway I can to other beginners!!

Welcome to the forum.

I don't know exactly what market you're looking to break into (and I'm not a 'pro'), but I'm not all that sure that some 'certificate' is going to mean much to clients.

As long as you have a solid portfolio (and can do that level of work reliably), nobody is going to care what certifications you may or may not have.

Now, if that is just a by-product of some classes you might want to take, so be it. I wouldn't worry too much about having some piece of paper to hang on the wall though. It might impress a few clients, but a solid portfolio will impress more.

Welcome to the forum.

I don't know exactly what market you're looking to break into (and I'm not a 'pro'), but I'm not all that sure that some 'certificate' is going to mean much to clients.

As long as you have a solid portfolio (and can do that level of work reliably), nobody is going to care what certifications you may or may not have.

Now, if that is just a by-product of some classes you might want to take, so be it. I wouldn't worry too much about having some piece of paper to hang on the wall though. It might impress a few clients, but a solid portfolio will impress more.