**NEWBIE** alert! :) Shooting a re-vows type event?!?

multiplexor

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hey guys,

HISTORY:
Very new as this is my first post... not new to forums in general...
I've been shooting for a short time... short as in, i bought my rebel back in november... went to asia for 5 weeks and shot a bunch of pictures... gave me good experience with my digi.
Some shots: http://www.flickr.com/photos/53164170@N00/
Prior to that, I've got a ton of experience with the poweshot A85, playing with the manual controls 99% of the time... (3 years)

QUESTION:
Anywho, my friend knows i'm doing this as a hobby and although i'm pretty good at getting well composed shots, i'm still not a pro... she's well aware, and doesn't mind... I don't mind as much either since it's not a formal wedding :)

I'm looking into most likely getting the 24-105mm F4 for this event and for future events.

BUT i've never been to a re-vows type of event... Should I be looking more into the 24-70 F2.8 instead? since it'll be in a church... or should I not worry so much as people won't be moving 500 miles an hour and the F4 should be fine from the 24-105?

I'm concerned mainly about lighting in the church ( I have the 430EX but don't want to use flash)

Both lens's are sharp as hell, but one would let me get more light, whereas the other would let me get more distance.... :-/ damn this debate which has been beaten to death!! :D

Thanks guys for the suggestions :D

F4 inside a church with no flash will likely be a disaster lighting wise unless it's very bright in there (which is pretty rare). It'd highly recommend the 2.8 over that, and even further since you mentioned that you're looking at the lens for future events as well perhaps look into a 50mm 1.8. I hope you'll share the results with us afterwards :)

I agree...wedding work often requires fast glass...get the F2.8 if you can afford it.